Bob Aronson

Tirisi, Wall Street Journal — Death by Journalism

In Lies about donation/transplantaation on July 24, 2012 at 7:58 AM

  1. And what about people like me who have donated a loved one’s organs only to learn in the hardest of all possible ways that what Dick Teresi says is true? Would you try to denigrate us, too? People like you whose only experience is on the receiving end of organ donation shouldn’t be so quick to criticize Mr. Teresi or anyone else who takes the time to truly educate themselves to BOTH sides of the story.

    Like this

    • Ms. Larimer:

      I understand your concern and appreciate and respect yourt comments. Most certianly have no intention of ever denigrating anyone particularly organ donors. Yes, I am a heart recipient but I am also a registered organ donor and so is everyone in my family.

      You suggest that my only knowledge lies in being a recipient. Not quite accurte. Allow me to offer my credentials. Prior to getting a heart translant I was first a journalist, then a Governor’s Press Secretary and finally a communications consultant specializing in health care.

      I served as a consultant to the United Network for Organ Sharing (UNOS), the national organization that promotes donation and coordinates all transplants in the United States. I have also worked with the Association of Organ Procurement Organizations (AOPO) and with several Individual Organ Procurement Organizations (OPOs) in the United States. All of them promote organ donation and do so in good conscience. They are helping to save thousands of lives.

      Additionaly I have posted over 130 blogs on organ donation, founded a Facebook group, Organ Transplant Initiative which has 2,300 members and produced four videos on organ donation. I ithink I can say without qualification that I have far more experience with both sides of the issue than Mr. Tirisi.

      That is not to say that you don’t have a right to your views, you most certainly do and if you are not comfortable being an organ donor then you should not be one.

      I read what Mr. Tirisi had to say and I can understand your fear and concern but I talk with medical experts regularly and there is no doubt in my mind that people who register as organ donors will not have their organs removed while living. The tests for determining death prior to organ donation are far more comprehensive than any other death declaration.

      Mr. Tirisi is making money selling fear. I report the facts and the truth and I don’t charge anyone anything for my work. I pay my own way and have paid all the expenses out of my own pocket for the videos I have produced and any costs associated with any other donation/transplantation activity in which I am involved.

      You certainly are entitled to your opinion but to suggest that I know nothing of the donation side of this issue is as far from the truth as you can get.

      An organ donor saved my life. I thank him and his family a thousand times a day. I try to honor his memory by doing what I can to save lives. Every time I hear of a transplant I bow my head and thank God for the donor’s gift. Thank you for your comments and if you have any questions you may write to be at bob@baronson.org.

      Like this

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,134 other followers

