“When I’m Dead I Don’t Need My Organs Any More”


Sometimes I’m amazed at just how eloquent people can be in a time of tragedy.  The following language was written by the wife of an organ donor and sent as a comment on one of my blogs.  I was so moved by it I had to reprint it word for word. 

“I have experience being on the donor end of the aspects in life. I was 23 years old when my high school sweetheart husband had been killed at work in a tragic accident. It is ironic when life is thrown at you when you least expect it. My husband and I were talking about a week earlier about his boss who just renewed his driver’s license and chose to be a donor. My husband was due to renew his driver’s license on his birthday, he said I think that I’m gonna sign up to be a donor, cuz when I’m dead I don’t need my organs any more. That phrase he said one week before he was killed stayed with me and changed my life forever. My husband was killed on July 2, 2002 and on July 11th my husband would have turned 24. Because of the conversation that my husband and I had I knew I would change people life through the grief that I was experiencing. My husband was the kindest man that I have ever meet. He was always lending a hand to someone. I now have the satisfaction that my husband’s spirit not only lives on in me and our children but in someone else. Through this, it has made dealing with the loss of my husband much easier. Since then, I have also became a donor. We wear our donor family pins proudly and remember what a great person my husband was and knowing that someone else shares in his spirit is rewarding and comforting.

My suggestion in life to those who have not become a donor , please do you will save someone and it makes the grief process easier knowing your loved one will live on in someone else. It is a very rewarding experience. Through our family’s donation, my husband was able to help over 56 people. Please make the life changing choice to help someone…. As they say leave it here for someone who can use because you’re not gonna need it in heaven…. Life is precious, I have learned to live every day as if it is my last because life is unexpected and make sure the ones that you love the most know how you feel about them.

My only response to the thoughts of this lovely woman is to echo them. 

1.      “When I’m dead I don’t need my organs any more”

2.      “I now have the satisfaction that my husband’s spirit not only lives on in me and our children but in someone else”

3.      “Make sure the ones that you love the most know how you feel about them”

How incredibly eloquent!  God bless her and her family.  We can all take a lesson from her humility and courage.   

Posted on February 11, 2008, in Organ donor's spouse. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

