Don’t Just Support Donation — Do Something!


I’ve been blogging now for about seven months.  During that time, I have written forty-one blogs about organ donation, transplantation or both. While there seems to be interest in the blogs, comments are few and far between.

 

My goal when I started the Facebook site and Bob’s Newheart was to get people talking, to stir interest and hopefully, increase the number of organ donors so fewer people would die waiting.  I sense, though, that while there is interest in the subject, there doesn’t seem to be a burning interest.  I have asked repeatedly for people to comment, to send suggestions on subjects I should write about —  the response has been almost negligible.  But, I never give up, never.  I’m going to ask you again to help us solve this horrible organ shortage.  Please join in the discussion, read the blogs, offer new ideas to explore and I’ll follow your lead.  Just being interested is not enough.  You have to do something to help increase organ donation.  Talk, write, email, cajole, opine, assert, make your feelings known.  Help make sure everyone understands that organ donation is a life and death issue.

 

WordPress keeps a running summary of reader “hits” on blogs.  I think we are doing OK as the following summary will show, but I sure would like some reader input, some sense that you really give a damn.  More than that, I would appreciate it if you would spread the word about the Facebook site and Bob’s Newheart blogs.  Ask your friends to join in, ask them to comment, ask them to make a huge fuss about the organ shortage.  Every one of you could be faced with the need for an organ sometime, please don’t wait till the last minute to become active.  Do it Now!  I am alive because someone “did it now.”  There are thousands of others out there just like me that need your help NOW!

 

Here’s a brief summary of the six top blog hits in the past few months.  Where I have written more than one blog on a subject I have combined them into one category.  Get with the excitement.  Pump up your friends, let’s make a difference together.

 

  1. Alcohol’s effect on organs                                          287
  2. UNOS’ Failure in Increasing donation                        265
  3. Mandatory organ donation                                          219
  4. LifeSharers                                                                 190
  5. Presumed Consent                                                    135
  6. Cellular Memory                                                          101

 

Hit a homer — be a donor!

 

Please read and comment on my World Wide Issues  blogs on http://blogsbybob.wordpress.com.   Also…visit my Facebook site, Organ Transplant Patients, Friends and You at  http://tinyurl.com/225cfh  OR — my Facebook home page  http://www.facebook.com/home.php

 

Posted on June 16, 2008, in Organ Donation. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Bob,
    I confess to being one of those who reads your posts but rarely comments. Lack of time, generally. But I wanted to write and encourage you to keep on posting! I appreciate your willingness to share your struggles and successes, and wish you well.

    I also want to tell you about a really cool thing that is happening with an organization I work for, called the Alliance for Paired Donation.

    Last Friday (July 18) marked the first anniversary of the world’s first NEAD (Never-Ending Altruistic Donor) chain, wherein Matt Jones, a then-28-year-old donor from Petoskey, Michigan sparked a chain of ten kidney transplants, with more on the way.
    Building on the traditional method of paired exchanges, whereby kidney patients who have a willing but incompatible donor are matched with others in a similar situation, the Alliance uses altruistic (or “good Samaritan”) donors to begin a chain of transplants that can be performed in a step-wise fashion, rather than having to be performed simultaneously.

    So here’s the way it unfolded: on July 18, 2007, Matt Jones of Petoskey traveled to Phoenix to donate a kidney to Barb Bunnell, a 53-year-old grandmother whose husband, Ron, wanted to donate but was incompatible. On July 26, Ron flew to Toledo, Ohio, where he donated a kidney to Angie Heckman, a 32-year-old woman who had been receiving kidney dialysis treatments three times a week for 11 years. The chain continued with Angie’s mom donating a kidney two months later, and there have now been ten people transplanted in five different states as a result of Matt’s initial gift.

    Angie Heckman, the second recipient in the chain, recently traveled to Pittsburg for the Transplant Games, where she competed and won a bronze medal in racquetball. Matt and his new wife, Meghan, who celebrated their honeymoon at the Games, were on hand to participate in the 5k run. Matt also had the opportunity to present Angie with her bronze medal.

    Bob, thanks for letting me use your comment section as a way to do a bit of self-promotion – I hope you find this idea of “paying it forward” as intriguing as I do. Please keep up the good work you are doing.
    Laurie

    Like

  2. Hang in there Bob. We all have our demon’s to slay. Yours will be vanquishe soon.

    Like

  3. Stay Strong Bob!

    Like

  4. I thought I had left my comment on your other post…what I wanted to add here is that I’m sorry you can’t make it to Pittsburgh for the Transplant Games, but I’m sure hoping that we’ll help mobilize a lot more people to get engaged through social media to promote donation. I’m glad for what you’ve been doing, and hope we can help move it forward.

    Like

  5. Bob – You had said you were having extreme pain, and I’m sorry to hear that your struggle has led to your problem with oxycontin. It takes courage to share your struggles, and in doing so I hope you’ll not only benefit from the prayers of many on your behalf (including mine), but that you may give others the impetus they need to take action in their own situations.

    Like

  6. Susan Mau Larson

    Bob,

    I am sorry to hear about your struggle with oxycotin and admire both your ability to recognize it and your strength and determination to overcome it. Your recognition in the importance of this to honor your donor is very admirable. My prayers are with you and Robin at this difficult time. I know you will get through it, but if it gives you a small about of comfort, please know I am thinking of you.

    Your friend,
    Susan

    Like

  1. Pingback: My Battle With Oxycontin « Bob’s NewHeart

Leave a Reply

