Bob’s NewHeart — The Impossible Dream


As the group I founded, Facebook’s Organ Transplant Initiative (OTI) grows so do the number of questions that we get. There are so many people who are deathly ill and waiting for organ transplants and they all have a multitude of questions. That waiting period can be frightening because because patients really are forced to face their mortality.

My heart transplant was almost 8 years ago so while not an expert I have some experience that might interest both pre and post transplant patients.

Those awaiting organs want to know about “The call” how long I was on the list and whether recovery from the surgery was difficult.

Those who are new recipients are always interested in what lies ahead. I’m hoping this blog answers some of those questions.

Every transplant patient is different, our bodies, minds and conditions are different. My story speaks to my situation. I hope it helps others have a better understanding of what it’s like to be told you are dying and how it feels to get the “Gift of life.”

I wrote the following blog about two years ago. It is my story. I’d like to hear yours and would also appreciate any comments you choose to make.

Bob's NewHeart

heart transplant cartoon

“Some men see things as they are and say why.  

I dream things that never were and say, why not”

George Bernard Shaw

This is post number 200 in the Bob’s Newheart Series of blogs on organ donation/transplantation and related issues

On February 17, 2014 I will turn 75.  It is an incredible feat for someone who abused his body as badly as I did.  By my count I have been dead three times. Once from sudden cardiac arrest, once during surgery in a hospital and I suppose once when they took my heart out to give me a new one (maybe that one doesn’t count).  I have to believe that I am only alive today because I was given a mission to do everything in my power to help others who face critical and/or life threatening illnesses.  The social media offer me that opportunity and I have gladly…

View original post 8,480 more words

Posted on March 7, 2015, in Healthy Living. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

